Magic: The Gathering · Marvel

Marvel Darkhold Destiny: Release Date and Product Guide

Darkhold Destiny arrives April 9, 2027. Start with what you want to do: draft with friends, play Commander, open packs or collect a specific scene. The two Bundles contain nine packs each, but they are not the same mix.

By TCG SpikesOctober 10, 2026Sources checked October 10

When Does Marvel Darkhold Destiny Release?

  • Worldwide release: April 9, 2027. Wizards announced the date on October 10, 2026.
  • The set tells a new Marvel story, with Dormammu and Hela among its villains. Its main-set code is MDD; its Commander cards use MDC.
  • An accompanying comic by Jackson Lanzing and Collin Kelly is announced digitally for February 2027 and in print for April 2027. Those are month-only windows, not exact release days.
  • April 9 is the announced set launch. A separate prerelease date is not confirmed here; check your store’s own event schedule.
  • Read Wizards’ dated announcement. Product choices below use its official product descriptions, checked October 10.
Marvel Darkhold Destiny standard Bundle packaging
The standard Bundle contains nine Booster Packs. The Arcanum Bundle changes both the pack mix and the extras.

Which Darkhold Destiny Product Fits You?

  • Want to draft? Begin with the regular Booster Packs, which Wizards describes as balanced for Limited play. Collector Boosters serve a different purpose: premium treatments rather than a specified draft experience.
  • Have four people for a game night? Draft Night is explicitly a four-player Pick-Two draft product, with a Collector Booster for the winner. Agree on how to handle that prize before opening the box.
  • Want to play Commander? Look at the Commander Decks first. Judge the eventual decklists by the play style you enjoy, then compare the normal and Collector’s Edition prices.
  • Want particular artwork or a display? Start with the Scene Boxes or the announced premium treatments. A six-card scene is a more defined collecting goal than hoping random packs produce one particular card.
  • Buying a gift? A Bundle gives the recipient packs and accessories; a Commander Deck is the more focused choice when they want that format. Ask whether they want a ready-to-play deck or packs to open when the set releases.
  • Choose the product that fits your plans first; compare its price with the alternatives once complete contents and offers are available.

Standard Bundle vs. Arcanum Bundle

Confirmed standard and Arcanum Bundle differences, checked October 10, 2026
ContentsStandard BundleArcanum Bundle
Regular boosters98
Collector BoostersNot listed in the description1
Named land treatment5 full-art Strange Places basic landsFull-Art Bifrost lands; count not specified
Promos1 mechanically unique mythic rare promoMechanically unique Arcanum promos with exclusive art; count not specified
DieOversize SpindownSpindown
  • The standard Bundle has nine regular boosters. Arcanum has eight regular boosters and one Collector Booster: nine total packs, with a different mix.
  • Arcanum is not simply the standard Bundle with one more pack. It trades one regular booster for a Collector Booster and changes the named lands and promos.
  • If opening regular boosters is the main attraction, compare the standard Bundle’s delivered price with buying those nine packs separately.
  • For Arcanum, ask how much extra you would personally pay for the Collector Booster, Bifrost lands and its specific promos. An unknown promo list cannot support an exact resale total.
  • Do not assume both boxes contain the same promo or the same land count. The product page gives five Strange Places basics for the standard box, but does not give a Bifrost count in the reviewed description.
Marvel Darkhold Destiny Arcanum Bundle packaging
Arcanum combines eight regular boosters with one Collector Booster. Its promo and land identities matter before making a value comparison.

Collector Boosters and Surge Foil Commander Decks

  • Collector Boosters advertise source material cards, silver foil cards and Midnight Raised Foil monstrous team-ups. The checked description does not provide pull rates for those treatments.
  • The Collector’s Edition Commander product advertises a 100-card deck in Surge Foil. A premium finish alone does not establish a stronger deck.
  • For a player, compare the eventual complete decklists before paying extra for the Collector’s Edition. For a collector, decide whether you want the finish across a deck or selected singles.
  • If you only want one premium card, compare its exact printing as a single when listings become available. Opening a Collector Booster is an uncertain route to that one card.
  • The treatment list tells you what you might open, but without slot odds and current card prices, it cannot tell you the average value of a pack.

Assault on Asgard and Skirmish at the Sanctum

Assault on Asgard Scene Box from Marvel Darkhold Destiny
Each announced Scene Box uses six Borderless Scene cards. Choose the scene and verify its complete contents before comparing offers.
  • Assault on Asgard: Six Borderless Scene cards depict the story’s conclusion.
  • Skirmish at the Sanctum: Six Borderless Scene cards depict Doctor Strange defending the Sanctum Sanctorum.
  • Choose between them by the pictured scene and the exact six cards you want. Do not assume their six-card sets will have the same singles value.
  • A Scene Box is not a Commander Deck. If your goal is a playable deck, budget for whatever other cards the eventual lists or your own build require.

What to Check Before a Darkhold Destiny Preorder

  • Match the exact product name, language and edition. The standard Bundle, Arcanum Bundle and Collector’s Edition Commander products answer different shopping questions.
  • Compare the delivered total, including shipping and taxes, and read the seller’s cancellation and release-delay terms.
  • Check the final promo identities and full decklists when published. A product photograph or an early preview is not a substitute for an itemized inventory.
  • Use the official card gallery for current reveals. This article is an announcement-stage product guide, checked October 10, 2026; it does not rank unrevealed cards.
  • If you have no particular interest in the announced extras, waiting for complete contents and comparable offers gives you a clearer decision than buying from the product name alone.